Huffington Post Book Club

A friend of mine posted a link to an article announcing the formation of an online book club hosted by the Huffington Post. I have to admit I am somewhat intrigued. I’ve never belonged to a book club, although joining one was something I always fantasized about doing. I love the idea of getting exposed to books I would not usually consider and having a forum to discuss those books with like-minded individuals. There is only one issue for me, and it’s a big one: How do I work in reading books that I want to read that are not on the list?

The article claims that “unlike any other book club, we also want to hear about how your reading intersects with your experiences, your memories, your everyday life and with current events.” That struck a chord for me. I remember one of my professors in college who had a strong influence on me, Prof. Phillip Marcus, who specialized in Irish literature. He said that literature was important, that it instills meaning in our lives and helps us deal with situations that arise. I believe that, which is why this new book club is interesting to me.

If you’ve had experience with book clubs, I’d love to hear your thoughts. I have a few weeks to make my decision, which also means I have a few weeks to finish the book I am currently reading.

Click here to find out more about the Huffington Post’s book club.

Leave a comment

Filed under Non-fiction

Leave a Reply

