The Rolling Stones: A Half Century of Rock and Roll

So, I read that the Rolling Stones celebrated their 50th anniversary and I though, damn, they’ve been playing music together longer than I have been alive! (Click here to read the article.) As a musician who has been in my share of bands over the years, I realize how astonishing it is that they have managed to stay together all these years. For that matter, it’s really astonishing that they lived so long. Kind of makes you wonder whether they really did make a deal with the Devil.

I remember the first time I saw the Stones; I paid a whopping $5.00. I squeezed into a huge football stadium and managed to actually get close to the stage. It was extremely hot so the stage hands had hoses to spray the crowd. When the Stones came out and opened with “Under My Thumb,” Mick grabbed a hose and sprayed the crowd, and I was one of the people he sprayed. I joked later that I was hosed by Mick Jagger but still respected myself in the morning.

Over the years, I’ve read several books about the Stones, including Up and Down with the Rolling Stones and Keith’s autobiography Life. I’ve found the books fascinating because, honestly, no band embodies the spirit of rock and roll like the Stones. The stories of their decadent escapades are truly the stuff of legends.

The article mentions plans for a Stones tour. I’ve seen the band five times, but I have to say, I am tempted to see them again. I’d like to take my kids so that they can have the memory of seeing the “World’s Greatest Rock & Roll Band.” I guess I’d better start saving now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Non-fiction

Leave a Reply

