Unpublished Tolkien Work Due Next Year

The Guardian reported that a previously unpublished epic poem by J.R.R. Tolkien will be published in 2013 (click here to read the article). The poem is entitled The Fall of Arthur and is written in alliterative verse. It is approximately 200 pages long and is set during the last days of Arthur’s reign.

As with most things, timing is everything, and this is certainly the case in the publishing industry. With the success of Peter Jackson’s Lord of the Rings films and the anticipation surrounding his upcoming three-part film adaptation of The Hobbit, what better time to release a “new” Tolkien work. The book should hit the shelves right as fans are eagerly awaiting the second film of The Hobbit trilogy.

While I love The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings, I cannot say that I love everything I have read by Tolkien. In fact, I found The Silmarillion to be so boring and tedious I am still amazed that I actually finished the book. I do have hope for The Fall of Arthur, though, mainly because I am fascinated with Arthurian legend and enjoy epic poetry. I will certainly buy a copy when it comes out and see whether it lives up to the hype.

2 Comments

Filed under Literature

2 responses to “Unpublished Tolkien Work Due Next Year

  1. pierre

    who took this picture? any other so I can cite this?

Leave a Reply

