And The Winner Is…

Zelda2Congrats to Sarah Nichols! She has won the autographed copy of Call Me Zelda. She suggested I read The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay:

I suggest the novel, The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay, simply because it is a great book. I think you’ll enjoy it, and I am very curious as to your opinion of it. It is a little long, but a thoroughly engrossing story of an English young boy growing up in South Africa. Though it is a novel, the story line is amazingly realistic, and the character development is fantastic.

I picked this primarily because I had never heard of the book or the writer before, and I am eager to branch out with my reading. I also did a quick search and found out that most people who have read it say it is one of the best books, if not the best, they have ever read. I also came across this quote from the New York Times: “The Power of One has everything: suspense, the exotic, violence; mysticism, psychology and magic; schoolboy adventures, drama.” Sounds right up my alley! I will pick up a copy and begin reading it soon (although, it will not be my next item to read – there is something else I am about to start, but then right after that).

Finally, I would like to acknowledge another suggestion from Sara Barnes, who has a great blog that I encourage you to check out: http://writingredbaron.wordpress.com. She suggested “Endymion” by Keats, a great poem that I read in college, and yes, I will definitely reread and review that poem too.

Thanks!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Literature

Leave a Reply

