The X-Files Season 10 Comic: Issue #1

XFiles_10-01Like a true fanboy, I went to the comic store yesterday to purchase my copy of The X-Files comic. My wife told me I was a dork. I was a huge fan of the series when it was on television, so I had eagerly anticipated the release of the comic. The comic series is dubbed Season 10 and picks up where the television show left off. Chris Carter, the creative genius behind the X-Files, is also collaborating on the comic, which is pretty cool in my opinion.

As the story begins, Mulder and Scully are in hiding, living under the assumed last name of Blake. They gave the child up for adoption and have no idea where he is. Deputy Director Skinner visits them to warn of a security breach at the FBI that resulted in information from the X-Files being compromised. Finally, some shadowy, cloaked figures appear and attack Scully.

So the actual storyline in the issue jumps around and does not follow the order above. This works well for me because it sets a tone of confusion and disorientation. As a reader, you’re not sure what is going on and everything seems chaotic. I sense that this was intentional and that the writers were seeking to instill this feeling in the audience. I remember feeling the same way as I watched the television shows. Things happened that made no sense and only puzzled me. It helped set the tone of mystery and also built suspense.

As far as the artwork goes, for the most part, I like it. The scenes are dark and instilled with a sense that there is something sinister lurking in the shadows, which is what I expect from The X-Files. My only critique is that the faces could use a little more detail. They seem a little flat and expressionless to me.

And now I wait for the next issue, which I can only assume will be out next month. I’m sure my wife will mock me again when I go to the comic store on the day it hits the shelves.

1 Comment

Filed under Literature

One response to “The X-Files Season 10 Comic: Issue #1

  1. Pingback: The X-Files Season 10 Comic: Issue #6 | Stuff Jeff Reads

Leave a Reply

