The X-Files Season 10 Comic: Issue #8

XFiles_10-08OK, I just finished reading the latest installment of the X-Files series, and I have to say, it keeps getting better.

In some of my earlier critiques, I complained about the fact that they were “resurrecting” characters who had died during the original television series. I think I said that if they brought back Deep Throat, I’d be finished. Well, I have to take that back. This issue includes the return of Deep Throat, but not as some implausible reinstatement. Instead, this issue has flashbacks to the late 1980’s which include Deep Throat and connects the newer conspiracies with earlier mythos. In my opinion, it works perfectly. Kudos to the writers!

In this issue, we see genetically manipulated amino acids molecularly bonded to blood cells. They are connected with secret experiments performed on children in the 80’s with horrific results. I thought that it was a particularly nice touch that Scully makes this discovery at 11:11, which is a time of the day with mystical symbolism. To sum up, I’m on edge wanting to find out what happens next.

Reading this comic has made me realize just how much I miss the X-Files. I confess that a lot of the shows I watch on television are attempts to fill the void left by the show’s end. I only hope that Chris Carter comes up with something comparable in the near future. But for now, this certainly suffices.

Leave a comment

Filed under Literature

Leave a Reply

