“Karma Repair Kit: Items 1-4” by Richard Brautigan

KarmicWheel

Every so often, I need to remind myself of the obvious. I get so caught up in my daily stress and anxiety that I forget to take a step back, relax, and reflect. When I do so, my karma usually realigns itself fairly easily. This poem provides simple and practical steps for getting your karma back in order.

  1. Get enough food to eat,
    and eat it.

  2. Find a place to sleep where it is quiet,
    and sleep there.

  3. Reduce intellectual and emotional noise
    until you arrive at the silence of yourself,
    and listen to it.

  4.  

I love the fact that Brautigan leaves item 4 blank. It allows one to project whatever one needs into the poem. When you reach that state of inner peace and silence your mind projects onto the page that which needs adjusting in your life and the path you need to take. It’s the equivalent of the blue painting by Yves Klein, where the viewer projects his or her inner vision onto the canvas.

So far today I have accomplished the first two steps. I will take the third step soon, and then I’m sure the fourth step will become obvious.

2 Comments

Filed under Literature, Spiritual

2 responses to ““Karma Repair Kit: Items 1-4” by Richard Brautigan

  1. Thanks for the reminder Jeff. My inner noise reaches intolerable levels sometimes. I’ll have to look into Klein-blue again. Maybe that will help. Just saw one of his blue figures today in a book on Alchemy (of all things.)

Leave a Reply

