Free Comic Day

FreeComicDay

The first Saturday of May is Free Comic Day, so I made point of stopping by Comic Envy, my favorite local comic store. It was a very festive occasion with lots of people engaging in cosplay and enough comic fans to jam the store. The only disappointment is that my daughter was sick and unable to accompany me, but the folks working at the store remembered her and allowed me to pick out a stack of comics to bring home for her. That kind of treatment is why I love supporting small, local, independent businesses.

So as you can see from my photo, I got a nice stack of comics (some free; some I purchased). I made myself a cup of coffee and sat outside on the back patio and read a couple. The first one that I read was Magneto #1. This was on my list of comics that I wanted to read so when I saw it there, I added it to my purchase stack. The comic definitely met my expectations. It’s well-written and the storyline is intricate. What I love about Magneto is that he is both hero and villain. He is one of those unique characters that does not fit into the standard categories. One cannot help but empathize with him. He is the product of his environment. We all have the potential for good and evil, and Magneto is the embodiment of both.

The second comic I read was Guardians of the Galaxy. This was one of the freebies and I picked it up because I know there is a Guardians film coming out soon and I really was unfamiliar with them. I have to say that I really liked this comic. The artwork is stunning and vivid with color exploding from the pages. The writing is also first-rate. I feel like I have been missing out on this. I am definitely going to read more of this. I’d like to get deeper into the characters before the film comes out.

When I was a kid, there was nothing as cool as Free Comic Day. I wish there had been. Regardless, I read a lot of comics as a kid and I always say that those early comics were my gateway drug into the addictive world of reading. As I snaked my way through the throngs of kids and adults in the comic store today, I saw all the people who love to read and appreciate the unique genre which combines image with word, thereby inspiring future writers and artists.

1 Comment

Filed under Literature

One response to “Free Comic Day

  1. Pingback: Hellboy: 20th Anniversary Sampler | Stuff Jeff Reads

Leave a Reply

