Black Widow: Issue #1

BlackWidow_01

So my daughter began following the Black Widow comic series. She likes it and suggested I read them, so I sat down and read the first issue. I have to say, I liked it.

The “Black Widow” is Natasha Romanov. She’s an ex-KGB agent who now works with S.H.I.E.L.D. She has a past which haunts her and it appears that she is trying to atone for something, but it is not clear what. Combined together, along with her ability to kick butt and her sense of fashion, I would consider her to be the consummate femme fatale. It’s almost impossible not to like her.

As far as the artwork goes, it’s quite impressive indeed. There is one panel where Natasha is rinsing a wine glass. The way that Phil Noto captures the curvature of the glass, the running water, and the various reflections and bending of the fingers is outstanding. Details such as this are what makes a comic book a work of art. I am impressed.

At the end of the issue, Natasha muses to herself as she watches a spider weaving a web.

How many more jobs… How long will it take… I don’t know if I can do it… Even if I could forgive myself… THIS is what I am now. And you’ll never know who I was before.

It’s like the web has become a symbol of her present state, where strands of memory connect her past to the present. Woven together, the events of her life have created the complex web which is her individual psyche.

I have the next several issues—correction, my daughter has them. But I will borrow them and read them soon. I’ll post my thoughts once I am done. Cheers!

Leave a comment

Filed under Literature

Leave a Reply

