Magneto: Issue #5

Magneto_05

This issue begins with Magneto hiding out in a small town in New York. As he walks back from purchasing items from the store, he contemplates what it is like to be ordinary, to spend your days engaged in ordinary and mundane activities.

I can see how “ordinary people” fall so easily into ruts. There’s comfort in the mundane. Catching a quick breakfast at the local diner. Although the eggs were a little too runny for my taste. Buying groceries. Apple, crackers, granola bars—staples that weather the road. Razors too. I’ve found I now dislike the feeling of stubble upon my head. If I were someone else… if I were ordinary… I might find security in the day-to-day grind. But I am not ordinary.

He then has an encounter with a woman named Briar Raleigh who wears a leg brace. Briar convinces Magneto that she can help him in his quest to defend mutants. She offers him information on S.H.I.E.L.D. task force agents, as well as information on the Marauders, a group “responsible for one of the most vicious mutant hate crimes ever.” Magneto appears interested and accepts her offer; at least, that is how it seems.

The issue ends with uncertainty, though. It is revealed that Briar’s leg was crushed during one of Magneto’s assaults. We are left unsure what the motives of each person are. The story is to be continued. Expect my review of the subsequent installment soon.

6 Comments

Filed under Literature

6 responses to “Magneto: Issue #5

  1. I haven’t read it! Good to learn about the comic-book-land more.

    • Hi Christy. My interest in comics was rekindled after I went to a lecture by Art Spiegelman, who wrote “Maus.” (If you have not read it, you must do so.) Anyway, he explained a lot about the theory behind using images to convey narrative and analyzed early cave drawings and hieroglyphs to show how a series of images can tell a story. It was fascinating!!

      Thanks for commenting and I hope you have a wonderful day!!!

      — Jeff

  2. Pingback: Magneto: Issue #6 – Collective Memory and Information Overload | Stuff Jeff Reads

Leave a Reply

