Star Wars: Issue 2

StarWarsComic_02

OK, so I am officially hooked into this comic. I’ve always loved Star Wars and this embodies everything about the saga that appeals to me.

The story continues with the attack on Cymoon 1. Charges have been set to destroy the Galactic Empire’s weapons facility, and now Luke, Han, and Leia are struggling to escape along with a group of freed slaves.

Luke, with a show of his characteristic naïve foolishness, faces off with Darth Vader. I love these panels because the dialog does an exceptional job of capturing the essence of the two iconic characters.

Darth Vader: You hold that weapon like an untrained child. You have no right to it. You, boy, are no Jedi. Who are you?

Luke: You killed my father.

Darth Vader: I’ve killed very many fathers. You’ll have to be more specific.

(Luke strikes at Vader who easily knocks him down.)

Darth Vader: This is most pathetic. You are not worth the seconds it would take to finish you. Who sent you here to die like this?

As I read this, I could hear in my mind Vader’s deep, resonant voice speaking these words. Because he is such an iconic and well-known villain, anything short of perfection when writing his quotes would fail miserably. Personally, I think Jason Aaron, the writer of this comic, nails it. And not just Vader’s lines, but those of all the main characters. As Han and Leia are in the walker, bickering with each other, it really felt genuine and true to the original films. To quote Lord Vader: “Impressive. Most impressive.”

Speaking of Vader, he figures prominently in this issue, which I believe is intentional as a setup for the Darth Vader comic which was just released (and yes, I already have my copy and will be reading and reviewing it shortly).

Few things make my geek-heart flutter quite like Star Wars. Bottom line is I think this comic is excellent. Feel free to share your thoughts. Cheers!

Leave a comment

Filed under Literature

Leave a Reply

