Nameless: Issue 1

Nameless

Alex Hurst, a fellow blogger, suggested I check out this graphic novel (she has a great blog: click here to check it out). When I asked about it at the local comic store, the owner agreed that I might like it. So I picked up the first installment.

I will say that there are some things I like about this issue, and some things that do not work for me. I suppose I should get the negative stuff out of the way first.

The story seemed a little choppy for me. It could be that the writer is just establishing the story and the characters, but it just felt a rough. Also, and this is just a personal thing, the abundance of foul language seemed unnecessary to me. I am definitely not one who is offended by curse words, and the language did not offend me in the least. I just felt it was not necessary and did nothing to add to the natural language of the characters. In fact, it made the language seem contrived. Including curses for the sake of including curses is not a sign of good writing, in my humble opinion.

What did work for me was the inclusion of references to kabbalah and astrology, particularly the connection between sephirot. The fact that the writer knows about the connection between Malkuth and Yesod bodes well. But this is not enough to justify following another arc right now. In fact, I am trying to reduce the number of comics I am following for a little while to focus on some other things.

Thanks for stopping by. Cheers!

Leave a comment

Filed under Literature

Leave a Reply

