Witchblade: Issue 183 – Power Broker Part 2

Witchblade_Issue183

So part of this issue I loved, but then I felt a little annoyed too. The writing is excellent and the storyline really draws you in. Sara, who is working for a mysterious woman named Amaryllis, does battle with Otunde, a powerful collector of mystical artifacts. Sara is victorious and secures the artifacts for Amaryllis, but not before Otunde hands her a book which he claims details the true nature of Amaryllis.

The scenes where Sara reads the book are stunning. The text is written in a style of calligraphy that is fitting for the artistic representations of the ancient text. As a bibliophile, this is exactly the kind of thing that gets me excited.

My complaint about this issue is it is too short, barely half the comic! The rest is filled with a short comic from the 2013 Talent Hunt entitled “Some Day One Day.” It was a very good short, and I’m not unhappy that I got to read it, but I just was left with “To Be Continued” on Witchblade when I was really getting excited about the story.

Oh well. I suppose that’s one way to ensure I will buy the next issue.

4 Comments

Filed under Literature

4 responses to “Witchblade: Issue 183 – Power Broker Part 2

  1. Alex Hurst

    It looks really beautiful! I hate, though, when a comic is half of something else. 😦 It also looks like art has toned down a lot… Maybe I could pick up this arc at some point.

    • Sara is toned down visually, but the villain, Amaryllis, is not. Which now that I think of it, kind of classifies good and evil women based upon appearance. Maybe something for a future post.

      • Alex Hurst

        I’d love to read your thoughts on that, for sure. Sounds like an interesting connection. (I was noticing that in Japanese media, it is always the gay man that is the Ultimate Evil, which I found curious.)

      • Hi Alex. Not just in Japanese media. Same here in U.S., although this seems to be finally changing. Classic examples are Scar in The Lion King and Jafar in Aladdin. Both villains exhibit stereotypical gay mannerism, and Jafar is also more Arabic than the other characters in speech. Media has been a tool for propaganda since the Nazis. Hasn’t changed, just gotten more subtle and insidious.

Leave a Reply

