House of Penance: Issue 01

HouseOfPenance_01

On my most recent trip to the local comic store, I asked the owner of there was anything new that I might be interested in. He knows my tastes and considered for a minute, then suggested “House of Penance.” He had a copy of the first issue stashed behind the counter and the second issue was on the rack. The cover art looked intriguing and I was drawn to the concept of penance, having to make amends for things done in life. I decided to purchase the first two issues and give them a try.

After reading the first installment, my interest is definitely piqued. The premise is that there is a widow, Sara Winchester, whose husband and daughter recently died. Her deceased husband was part of the Winchester family that makes firearms. She lives in a large estate and accepts boarders who appear to have to atone for things they did. Boarders must relinquish all firearms and agree to work. The workers build doorways and staircases that lead nowhere.

This first issue basically begins developing the characters and the foundation of the story. The artwork is detailed and disturbing, and the writing is very good. The dialogue is very realistic and each character has a unique voice.

I don’t have much else to say at this point. I will be reading the second installment soon. Look for my thoughts on that issue later this week.

2 Comments

Filed under Literature

2 responses to “House of Penance: Issue 01

  1. This really looks interesting, I would have been drawn in by the cover as well.

Leave a Reply

