“Daily Medicine” by Wayne William Snellgrove

A while back, I shared about A Man’s Book of the Spirit by Bill Alexander, a daily meditation book that I had used for many years as a part of my morning ritual. Last year, I figured it was time to find a new daily meditation book, just for some different perspectives. I searched online and found this one, Daily Medicine, which seemed to be something I could connect with.

Snellgrove is a Native American and the short meditative quotes draw on his tradition. The blurb on the back of the book describes it as follows: “Daily Medicine, a spiritual prayer book, contains 366 meditations focused on Indigenous healing and spirituality.”

I’ve used this book for the later half of 2021, and plan on using it for this year too. I’ve found the meditations inspiring and thought-provoking. There is not much else to say, but I do want to provide a few examples to give a sense of the type of meditations included in the book.

“It is in the presence of our own humility that we are able [to] usher in miracles.”

“In Mother Nature, so much is packed into small things. So small we often overlook them. Every pine needle, every drop of dew, every snowflake, every leaf, every sunset and sunrise.”

“Our spiritual healing is only as equal as our honesty.”

I hope you found this inspiring. If you have a favorite daily meditation book that you use, I’d love to hear about it. I’m always looking for other sources of inspiration.

7 Comments

Filed under Spiritual

7 responses to ““Daily Medicine” by Wayne William Snellgrove

  1. Thanks for sharing this meditation book Jeff. I was just thinking about doing some sort of daily meditation because I remember you recommended a meditation app, Insight Timer which I promptly downloaded and haven’t used, I’m ashamed to say. Seeing your post is good timing! Do you still use the app? Hope you are doing well.